Tutor Report Assignment 5

 

I am sticking to my tutors wishes that I only post the odd comment from the report and not the whole report.

So I have used his comments that are relevant to rework or research of the assignment.

 

Overall Comments

Another strong collection of images that show that you are developing a voice and an understanding of the brief

Assessment potential

It may be worth looking at some of the images and definitely expanding on your reflection and consider producing more research.

Feedback on assignment

As you have progressed your work has improved and this final assignment shows that you are continuing on the path

Concern was shown over my use of the iPhone images for macro shots ideally I should use a macro lens for my Fuji.

When I can afford one I’ll buy one. I had an image in my head that I was after and I used what I had to get it.

Exploring all the possibilities of a flower is ambitious and I believe you have produced some interesting images unified by the black background

my tutor suggest looking at the processing

using a modified curve to increase contrast slightly, ensuing that the highlights are retained, this is very subtle, but it is that degree of control and technique that lifts the images

My tutor suggests I seek out the floral photography of Karl Blossfeldt and Robert Mapplethorpe

The approach you have is often more akin to the food photography that you have previously worked on , maybe that explains why some images as they look like beautiful ingredients from a recipe book

Could this approach be developed further?

No, not that keen on food photography, I just prefer black background.

The graphic quality of such images as the ‘sunset’ ( image 1)could be improved by going wider, looking at the series, it may be worth considering producing more alternatives or more moving images as a single image in the series stands out and maybe worth exploring more of this approach.

For the exercise 5.2 my tutor then suggests that I have

‘produced some strong work although inconsistent, they are some strong portraits and maybe this can be developed at a later stage.’

He recommends that I research Richard Avedon , his use of natural daylight- in the American West

Coursework

You show commitment to the exercises but you now need to improve on the research and critical feedback on your own output.

Nothing new there, must try harder.

Research and learning log

You have produced strong research, however as stated before, it would maybe benefit from more visual support where possible, the research is so very important.

have to step it up a gear

Suggested reading and viewing

My tutor recommends that I visit the Tate Modern and see ‘ The Radical Eye’ , Sir Elton Johns personal photographic collection.

All artists never stop studying, researching and seeking inspiration from many sources.

Conclusion

After a long journey you are starting to produce strong work and are taking on new ideas and developing your own voice.

In a Nutshell I need to research more and document more reflectiveness. I have put together a gallery of the motion images of the flowers I used for Assignment 5 from my contact sheets.

After receiving my final tutor report I would like to thank my Tutor for his helpful comments.  I have taken his comments on board ready for rework of this assignment for submission for assessment in July. My learning blog will be updated accordingly.

 

Leave a Reply

