More Books

I’m gathering a collection of photography books

The photographer reader. Edited by Liz Wells. Routledge

This book is a comprehensive collection of twentieth- century writings on photography from its production, its uses and its effects. I bought this book because I flicked through it and I started reading ‘In our Glory: Photography and Black life’ by Bell Hooks, Part eight , Image and Identity. I found myself engrossed in her story about her feelings towards a photograph of her father. I would recommend buying this book if you enjoy reading other peoples stories, opinions and thoughts on photography. There are nine parts to this book and so far I have managed to read three of them, its ongoing.

 

Extraordinary Everyday Photography by Brenda Tharp and Jed Manwaring. Amphoto Books.

I read this book from cover to cover in one day it was easy to read and had some very good tips. I have revisited the chapters on ‘Exploring the light around you’ ( Chapter 8 )  and Diptychs and Triptychs ( chapter 4 ‘Expanding the creative process’) for Part 4 of this course.

 

Street photography now by Sophie Howarth and Stephen McLaren. Thames and Hudson

I got this book in preparation for assignment 3, there are some really good images and flashes of genius from the photographers cited in this book. My favorite chapter is ‘Some Truths cannot be told except as Fiction’, and the images from Matt Stuart and Nick Turpin are particularly good and seem to define what street photography is for the masses.

 

 

image3 (2)
Magnum Stories. Phaidon Books

This was the most expensive book I bought, it has a wide selection of interviews given by Magnum photographers. The majority of the photographers document their history and give some details about their most iconic images.  My tutor recommended that I research ‘magnum photographers’ so I purchased this book as a start.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

